A Thank You Letter

Hello again!

This blog is going to be a little different than the regulars. Today, I’d like to introduce you to someone very special to me, and that’s my mom!

Growing up, I didn’t fully appreciate her like most children with their parents, and that’s why I decided to write a blog directly thanking her for all of her beautiful moments of being a wonderful mother.

The first thing you should know about Stacey is her selflessness. Being a single mom with four children will teach you that over the years, naturally. I remember one time in particular when my mother had just come home from work at 5:30 p.m. and went straight to the kitchen to prepare our dinner.

She cooked the entire box, but the food wasn’t enough for all of us to have average portions, so she decided just to give us the bigger portions while she ate the small leftover portions.

Stacey is also a very caring mother. You can always count on her attending every game, even in freezing temperatures and bundled up in blankets. Don’t worry, Stacey makes many friends in the stands.

Mother always entertained us growing up, and I realize now that entertaining children is very draining. I still remember times when our mom would draw chalk outside or fill up water balloons or play every board game we owned.

Disney was a huge part of our lives growing up. I remember Little Mermaid coloring books, and playing Headbands in the Disney version. My mother and I shared an obsession with Little Mermaid. We would always watch it together.

Now that my brothers and I are older, we tend to rag on my mother constantly, but she’s a great sport. She’ll just laugh and call us names back. It’s a wonderful relationship built on mutual trust and understanding.

My mom has been through a lot of hard times in her life, and I view her as a role model for the way she has handled those trying times. She’s very optimistic and positive, and I adore those qualities about her. Not many can go through what she has and still have a fun, loving personality.

Of course, Stacey can be dramatic, but in both good and bad ways. Most of my friends love Stacey more than they love me, which is whatever. Telling stories is her thing, and the way she tells them is way funnier than the story itself. I tell my stories the same way.

Sometimes, Stacey will get a little feisty and yell at us. Usually though, she’s too nice to stay mad at us for more than 30 minutes, and these moments are very rare. She’s very blessed to have children that rarely do wrong, particularly me.

Even though Stacey makes a humble living, she still manages to provide for four children. We’ll eat out or go to the movies every once in awhile. Stacey loves her movies, let me tell you.

She also buys me snacks and living essentials for my friends and I at college. Most of the time, I’ll just silently put snacks in the cart and Stacey will give me this look that’s very familiar as I continue to place the item in the cart.

Above all, my mother is very understanding and compassionate. I’m never afraid to tell her anything, especially the men troubles. Stacey has stories about them too, so she never judges.

I love my mom more than I let on at times, and despite what you may have heard, I’m not always the perfect child. Stacey has been through some rough times, and some of those times are because of me and my sass, I will admit.

But despite those, my mom is and will always be one of my favorite people in the entire world, and I’m very blessed to have a mother whose love is a small example of God’s selfless and unconditional love for me.

So thank you Mom, and I love you whole bunches!

Leave a Reply

