Just Your Typical Day At Geneva

Hey guys! I just want to take a quick moment to thank everyone who takes time out of their day to read my blogs. I don’t plan on being a professional blogger one day. In fact, these blogs are all part of a class assignment, and I plan on pursuing a career in journalism.

Either way, I’m still very thankful that people find my writing at least somewhat entertaining. It helps to give me a glimpse of hope in pursuing a successful career as a writing major.

Today, I’m going to keep it a little more light-hearted and talk about a day in the life of me at Geneva College.

Overall, I would say that my life is pretty boring. I’ve said this before, but I really want to emphasize the point that I have a very simple lifestyle.

Waking up is a terrible process for me, and if I had the choice, I’d wake up at 11 a.m. every day for the rest of my life. I’m not a huge fan of mornings.

I have no classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays this semester, and my Monday, Wednesday, and Friday classes start at 12:20, so I wake up around 11 . I know this is just a small blessing that will shortly end next semester, but I’m greatly enjoying it while it lasts.

After I wake up, I usually do my typical make-up and hair routine that takes close to an hour. Perfecting my winged eye liner and deciding on a good outfit for the day takes up most of the hour.

I know these things shouldn’t take as long as they do, but I like putting effort into these things. I’m a girl, and I like to look half-decent in case I meet my future husband at any second.

On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, I go to class, usually five to ten minutes late since I have to stand in line and wait for food (and I’m not good at managing my time). I like to eat my lunch in class to allow a small aspect of excitement during my three back to back hour-long classes.

I usually get popcorn chicken, dip it in a boat load of ranch, drink two cartoons of milk, peel an orange, and pick at my oatmeal creme pie. Sometimes I get a banana instead or chocolate milk just to add a little extra excitement to my life. Fascinating stuff, I know right?

During my second class, I’ll usually do homework for another class or study for a test. I like to multi-task while listening to my professor’s lectures. I don’t know why but it takes a lot of work for me to just sit and only have my attention on them. Probably have some weird mental thing happening.

My third class requires note taking, so my multi-tasking is pretty much taken care of. World Religions is pretty interesting, but this one kid always has a negative comment for each religion and really makes me want to punch him. My respect ain’t high for that boy.

Afterwards, I go back to the apartment and I’ll either finish up any homework or just ask my roommates how their day was. Mondays, I have a 4-hour night class where we watch movies, so I’ll eat dinner around 5 p.m. in the cafeteria.

The cafeteria, or Alex’s as Geneva students like to call it, is probably the most exciting place on campus. My friends and I like to get tables on the far left side so we can watch people. You never know.

The school is roughly the size of a normal high school, so pretty much everyone knows everyone’s business.

After the day is mostly gone, I’ll usually settle back into my apartment and finish out the day with homework or more TV. My bedtime is pretty late since I wake up later, roughly a 2 – 3 a.m. bedtime. My showers are rather long, an hour tops. I don’t know why, I just really like to chill in the shower. It’s quiet, no one’s around, and I love listening to my playlists. I got the coolest jams, y’all.

Tuesdays and Thursdays are slightly different. I go to this program called Tiger Pause in the middle of the afternoon where I tutor kids in less fortunate circumstances. This program really helps me to be thankful. Plus, I have a lot of younger siblings, so I’m used to playing with kids.

The weekends are usually very relaxing days. Saturday lunches are what Alyssa and I live for. They have an unlimited supply of eggs, sausages, and pancakes. It’s the little things in life.

We mostly watch a lot of movies back to back on weekends, although Sunday consists of more homework and less TV than Saturdays. Sundays, we also go to church and get Dunkin’ Donuts coffee afterwards. Again, just the little things.

Of course, not every day is completely the same. On extremely rare occasions, I’ll try to make a new friend. Sometimes, my roommates and I will go shopping or go somewhere exciting to eat on the weekends. Hence, why my bank account has so many food transactions. Sheetz is also very addicting. I can’t help that.

So now you know my life, and aren’t you glad you took the time to read this amazing blog about my completely fascinating every day experience as a college student. I know I am.

Than you guys for reading! I hope you have a swell rest of your day!

Leave a Reply

